Jesus Christ Is Lord

That every knee should bow and every tongue should confess that Jesus Christ is Lord to the glory of God the Father!

Why Has America Lost Its Soul?

Posted by Job on April 5, 2009

MSNBC.com asks Has America become numb to tragedy?. (And this article actually only focuses on gun crimes, so it leaves out things like a brother stabbing his two sisters to death.) Well, I say turn to Matthew 24, the prophecy of the last days of Jesus Christ, and pay attention to verse 12: And because iniquity shall abound, the love of many shall wax cold. That means that as the time of the return of Jesus Christ draws nearer, the sinful conditions of the world is going to become so pronounced that people will simply not care about even heinous crimes committed against large numbers of innocent people on a routine basis.

I suppose now would be a good time to run through the usual laundry list of social and cultural ills: economic problems, political and corporate corruption, capricious wars, disrespect of parents and authority, rampant fornication and homosexuality, violence in the media, and abortion. And yes, I am certain that dark powers, evil spirits, are afoot. But the root cause of this is a church in America that no longer stands for the Jesus Christ of the Bible.  

This is not a problem of a lack of values. It is a lack of the gospel being preached, and the gospel being lived by so many of the professed Christians in this country. Refer to the words of Jesus Christ in Matthew 5:13: Ye are the salt of the earth: but if the salt have lost his savour, wherewith shall it be salted? it is thenceforth good for nothing, but to be cast out, and to be trodden under foot of men.

Now is not the time to point the finger at the other guy. No talking about the problems with this pastor over here or the doctrinal problems of this movement over there. No, this starts with the man in the mirror. Point the finger at yourself. How does YOUR life measure up against the standards of holy living set forth in the Sermon on the Mount, 1 Corinthians 15, the book of Ephesians, and elsewhere in scripture? I am not talking about religious standards or cultural/moral standards, but the actual requirements of scripture.

It measures up pretty well? OK, if you say so, fine. That is between you and God, and He will be the judge of that. But that’s you. What about everyone else? When was the last time you told someone else about Jesus Christ? I have to say that if I look at you as a number and judge you based on statistics, chances are it has been quite awhile, because studies show that over 95% of “evangelical Christians” never actually evangelize anybody. Based on Barna, Pew, and the other folks who put out these studies on religious behaviors and attitudes, 9 out of 10 Christians don’t even tell their friends, neighbors, and coworkers about Jesus Christ, let alone go door to door or stand out on street corners handing out tracts.

This is no surprise.  97% of Christians, including evangelicals, don’t even regularly serve in their local congregations. In virtually every church in America, no matter how large or small, the work is done by 3% to 10% of the congregation. The teaching, preaching, worship, administration, edification etc. is done by those few. The rest just show up as if they are going to a movie, baseball game, or super market or something. Now much attention is given to the crisis that the vast majority of children raised in evangelical Christian homes leave those churches never to return once they reach adulthood and leave these homes, but since 90% to 97% of the people in these homes never brings the gospel of Jesus Christ to sinners and never even serves their fellow believers in their local fellowship halls, were the homes that these children are leaving ever Christian to begin with? How can you lose something that you never had? How you leave something behind that you were never actually in to begin with?

Oh, you might take your kids to church every Sunday, buy them the merchandise from the Christian bookstores, send them to the camps and trips, get them the purity rings and have them sign the pledges, but if you aren’t spreading the gospel or serving in your local congregation, what evidence is there that you are really in the faith, and therefore have a Christian home for your child to leave? This isn’t about your culture and values, this is about your standing before a holy righteous God that demands obedience to the plan of salvation and the plan for worship and living that He left recorded in the Bible! When James wrote not once but three times (James 2:17James 2:20James 2:26) who do you think that he was talking to? Atheists? Mormons? Muslims? Hindus? Jehovah’s Witnesses? Jews? No … James wasn’t talking to THEM. He was talking to ME.

That’s right. I didn’t say YOU. I said ME. Why? Because as I said earlier, this isn’t about talking about the speck in the other guy’s eye. It is about the log in the eye of the guy looking at YOU in the MIRROR. If 90%, 95%, 97% or what have you depending on the survey do not share the gospel and do not serve in their local churches, why do we expect anything else but a nation filled with perversion, hate and violence? Who do you expect the blame to fall on? Sinners? Come on! How else do you expect them to act? They’re sinners and they are going to sin! The sinners are not the salt of the earth, the ones who have the light of Jesus Christ that is supposed to shine and overcome the darkness. That is the job of Christians! That is the job of ME!

The blame is on Christians. It is the Christians that are supposed to be out there turning the other cheek, helping the poor, taking care of the orphans, showing mercy to prostitutes and adulterous women (well if we care so much about abortion, who do you think is getting them?), befriending tax collectors, visiting the prisoners and all the things that Jesus Christ did and commanded. Those are the sick people that need a doctor, remember? It is Christians that are supposed to go ye therefore, and teach all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit. It is Christians who are supposed to know better because of Jesus Christ and are supposed to be empowered to do better because of the Holy Spirit and supposed to want to do better because of a burning zeal to glorify God the Father. It is Christians that are supposed to be rising early, staying up late, and getting up in the middle of the night praying, fasting, interceding so that this cloud of evil, violence, and wickedness passes from this land. 

Christians need to get reacquainted with the Apocalypse of John, better known as the Book of Revelation. That book is all about judgment, the wrath of God that falls upon the hard hearted, the stiff – necked, the proud, and the disobedient. And guess what? This judgment doesn’t start with the world, the sinners. No, this judgment starts in the church. So many of us like to read Revelation 1 about the glorious awesome Jesus Christ, skip on over to Revelation 4 and thereafter where it begins to talk about how the wicked rulers, nations, and people of the world are going to be judged, and in the process completely ignore Revelation 2 and 3, as if that isn’t talking about US.

It is US, people in the church, that Jesus Christ tells “Remember therefore from whence thou art fallen, and repent, and do the first works; or else I will come unto thee quickly, and will remove thy candlestick out of his place, except thou repent.” It is US that Jesus Christ warns “Repent; or else I will come unto thee quickly, and will fight against them with the sword of my mouth.” It is US that Jesus Christ warns “Behold, I will cast her into a bed, and them that commit adultery with her into great tribulation, except they repent of their deeds. And I will kill her children with death; and all the churches shall know that I am he which searcheth the reins and hearts: and I will give unto every one of you according to your works.” It is US that Jesus Christ warns “Remember therefore how thou hast received and heard, and hold fast, and repent. If therefore thou shalt not watch, I will come on thee as a thief, and thou shalt not know what hour I will come upon thee.” It is US that Jesus Christ warns “I know thy works, that thou art neither cold nor hot: I would thou wert cold or hot. So then because thou art lukewarm, and neither cold nor hot, I will spue thee out of my mouth. Because thou sayest, I am rich, and increased with goods, and have need of nothing; and knowest not that thou art wretched, and miserable, and poor, and blind, and naked: I counsel thee to buy of me gold tried in the fire, that thou mayest be rich; and white raiment, that thou mayest be clothed, and that the shame of thy nakedness do not appear; and anoint thine eyes with eyesalve, that thou mayest see. As many as I love, I rebuke and chasten: be zealous therefore, and repent.

All those warnings of judgment. All of those calls to repent. Not a single one was directed towards the world. ALL were directed towards the church. You know what else is traditionally regarded as being aimed at the world that is actually towards the church? The famous Revelation 3:20 “Behold, I stand at the door, and knock: if any man hear my voice, and open the door, I will come in to him, and will sup with him, and he with me.” That is taken to be a classic evangelism verse. Why? Because it is out of context. Jesus Christ wasn’t addressing sinners ignorant of His gospel at any point in Revelation 2 and 3. That entire section is directed towards those who know the gospel and are in the church. The reference to Jesus Christ standing at the door and knocking wanting to enter someone’s heart is not a reference to His wanting to save a sinner. No, it is His commanding a member of the church to meet His requirements of obedience. Jesus Christ references the heart, which indicates love. Jesus Christ wants the Christian church to love Him. And how does one love Jesus Christ? The answer: John 14:15. “If ye love me, keep my commandments.” 

So in the actual meaning, the true context of Revelation 3:20, Jesus Christ IS NOT knocking at the door of the heart of some lost sinner asking to be let in so that He can save Him. No, Jesus Christ is standing at the door of the 90+% of Christians who never share the gospel, the 90+% of Christians who never serve in their local churches, the percentage of Christians who do not heed His instructions in the gospels and Revelation, who do not heed the instructions of Paul, Peter, James, John, the unknown writer of Hebrews etc. in the epistles by obeying His Word. Jesus Christ is talking to the foolish Christians who do not build their houses on the rock because they hear Jesus Christ’s words and do not obey them, Matthew 7:23-27! It is the Christians that obey the commandments of Jesus Christ that Jesus Christ will enter in and have dinner with. It is those Christians who will endure to the end and attend the marriage supper of the Lamb, counted among those considered the bride of Jesus Christ and the body of Jesus Christ, adopted into God’s sonship through Jesus Christ. And it is only obedient Christians that are capable of effectively standing against the wickedness that has gripped America and the world at this present evil hour. 

So, professing Christian, I ask of you right now, take a look at yourself in the mirror. Are you an obedient Christian? Has your salt lost its savor? Is your light hid under a bushel? Is Jesus Christ standing at your door knocking? You are known by the fruit that you bear (Matthew 7:16Matthew 7:20Matthew 12:33Luke 6:44). Christian, now it is judgment time, time for you to test and try yourself as the Bible commands you (2 Corinthians 13:5). Here’s the test: look at yourself in the mirror, and ask yourself: “Where is my fruit, and what kind of fruit is it?”

11 Responses to “Why Has America Lost Its Soul?”

  1. The Prodigal Son said

    … Excellent, excellent article, Job !! I thank you for this honest, insightful admonition to our fellow ‘Christians’ (Christians in name only)… 90 %, 95%, 97% ?!? That is a HUGE MAJORITY ! It is these ‘Christians’ (the deceived) which make things more difficult for TRUE evangelists such as yourself. ~~~ ~~~ Don’t relax, Job. Be sure to keep it up… but know this : Although I have never met you, your fruits are PLAIN to see… as is your sincerity. Though I don’t always agree w/ everything you say… it is clear that you ARE earnestly contending… and THAT is paramount ! ~~~ ~~~ Your family is blessed to have you, and I commend you, sir ! May our Lord continue to bless and keep you and yours… ~~~ ~~~ … Joshua

  2. Wow. I mean wow. This article is true. Am I living for God right now? Yes, but only by His grace. I work full-time in ministry, I live in a Christian men’s home, and I attend church. I volunteer at a Friday night public school outreach ministry that we have, and I do my share of visitation. Although all of those things are admirable, and indeed God wants us to be doing those things, I can still not neglect the commandment to go forth and preach the Gospel. Many people know Romans 10:13, but they ignore 14 and 15.
    14 How then shall they call on him in whom they have not believed? and how shall they believe in him of whom they have not heard? and how shall they hear without a preacher?
    15 And how shall they preach, except they be sent? as it is written, How beautiful are the feet of them that preach the gospel of peace, and bring glad tidings of good things!
    We have an obligation to our Savior to preach the gospel. He doesn’t ask us to do the saving, Jesus saves, we just tell them about it! I still have an obligation to tell people about Jesus great love, but God forbid I tell them they can just come to church and warm a pew, and tithe, and be satisfied with that. God help our churches to be the salt of the world!

  3. wearymom said

    This was a great article!! I have read it and reread it several times. Would it be ok to submit this article to a local Christian newspaper along with your website address? The editor is always requesting that people to send in good articles they find. This one is excellent and would be such a good word of admonition for the Church in my area.

    I am ashamed to admit it, but I have been a Christian many years and have not been actively involved in witnessing…until just recently. Being a shy, reserved person, I have always preferred not to talk to strangers. A small group of people from my church is participating in the Way of the Master evangelism training. Since starting this course just weeks ago, I am leaving tracts everywhere I go and just last Friday handed a tract to a live person for the first time! Today I handed tracts to three people!…clerk at the Dollar Store, teller at the Bank, checker at Walmart. I can DO this! I am determined to overcome my fear. I realize now I was using my shyness as an excuse-that was sin! I feel an urgency about it now and regret all those years I never did this. As I walked around in Walmart today, I saw everything differently…all those lost people. It may seem a small thing to hand out a tract, but it can have a huge impact in a person’s life. I recently watched the video clip called ‘The Seeker’ about a man who handed out 10 tracts a day. It is an amazing story. You may have seen it, but it is at
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NfMS6TQMJwA&eurl=http%3A%2F%2Fbloodtippedears%2Eblogspot%2Ecom%2F&feature=player_embedded. Very encouraging true story.

    Thank you for this article. Please let me know if I can send it to my local paper.

    • Job said

      Weary Mom:

      Why thanks, and you may certainly submit this to the newspaper with the website address!

      “I am ashamed to admit it, but I have been a Christian many years and have not been actively involved in witnessing…until just recently.”

      Well, be ashamed no more. The “just recently part” means that you are doing it, which means that in this area you are obedient to Jesus Christ.

      “Being a shy, reserved person, I have always preferred not to talk to strangers.”

      Well, my wife would say that your shyness is a spiritual attack of the enemy designed to hinder you from winning souls for Jesus Christ. (Yes, my wife is one of the radical sorts like that!)

      You have a powerful testimony of overcoming shyness. I myself was greatly hindered and in the grips of what I THOUGHT was shyness. But do you know what it was? It wasn’t shyness. It was PRIDE. I was afraid of being embarrassed because of PRIDE! This is probably not the case with you, but it was with me! And I am still having pride issues to this day. So, pray for me, and I will pray for you! And thanks, I will make a post on this Youtube clip.

      The Way of the Master? I have a stack of old tracts from them in my sock drawer. I think that I will hand them out tomorrow while I am going about town on my errands!

      • wearymom said

        Thank you for allowing me to submit your article and also for your comments. I think your wife is right about shyness being a spiritual attack to prevent me from witnessing…but also it is probably a problem with pride I have never really faced up to. Fear of embarassment or rejection rather than fear of disobeying God. But,I am determined, with God’s help, to overcome it. I will pray for you, too. Thanks again!

        • Job said

          Wearymom:

          You are welcome!

          “but also it is probably a problem with pride I have never really faced up to”

          Well, no, some people are legitimately shy. That was probably the case with you. Also, not everyone has a pride problem, but I definitely did and still have problems in that area! I just praise God that you are an evangelist for His Son!

  4. David L. Williams said

    Shyness, anger, jealousy, and all the other unpleasant aspects of our personality come from a single root. So does pride, but it has a special way of forming, which I’ll take up later. We may think we’ve outgrown our childhood emotional growing pains, but their results remain in us. To see this, we have to look at those times thru the eyes of the child we were then.

    Those days of learning the hard lessons were traumatic to us back then, and we adjusted ourselves daily, looking for ways to not feel the pain of feeling rejected. Our wisdomless minds could not understand we were denied having our own way for good reasons. When we did not get our way or we were punished for our acts, we were unable to consider it anything other than that we were unloved. This was aided in our brooding times by our hearing the still small voices of evil spirits, who had plans to make us never able to truly love and accept ourselves, but to cover this with an act that we do accept ourselves. The spirits never spoke to us in the 2nd person, but said things like, “They don’t love me” in the 1st person, as if it were our own thot.

    You may see here, that the spirits were busy installing the spirit of shame in us. That would be the root for all the other possible traits we may find to protect our feeling of shame, rejection. In case we don’t remember just how traumatic those times were to us, most of us can remember at least one embarrasing time of the hot red face, and the wish that we could just disappear, when we were confronted over a wrong. That is the power of shame.

    Once shame became a part of us, the spirits then set out to give us ways to avoid others seeing our shame, for of all things, we did not want that exposed. We learned to put on an act to present to the world, our personality. Some would have a spirit of anger, for example. This was a way to stop another who is getting close to exposing our shame. Some might have a spirit of jealousy, that others have it better than ourself. Some find it more comfortable to shy away from confrontations that may expose we have an inner spirit of rejection. This can cover a gamut of personality traits, all with the root of shame.

    Thinking back to that hot red face of embarrassment mentioned earlier, it is quite likely we made a vow to never let that happen to us again. We probably made many similar vows over our growing years that someday, we would show all those authorities and peers that we were valuable, after all. Those vows have vengeance in them. And even after we forgot we made those vows, they are still there within, an expectancy about how we will handle our future relationships.

    The shy person would likely avoid situations that would show we feel rejectable within. An angry person would likely use that anger to warn people away from exposing our shame, and neither would know they were fulfilling their childhood vows.

    Let’s look at what happened to Adam and Eve in the Garden to prove the case. One minute, they stood naked and unashamed before God and each other. The next, after their fall, they stood naked and ashamed. Everything God had created in them was still there, but something had been added. It was shame, the feeling of being worthy of rejection.

    Immediately, they began justifying themselves, telling half-truth/half- lies to cover their shame. They were no longer naked before God or each other, hiding their real emotional feelings. That is the “old man” in us we talk about. For this shame spirit has been passed down thru all generations since the Garden.

    We might think hate is the opposite of love, but it isn’t. Hate is but one symptom of shame, among many. Love is the Spirit of God. Shame is the spirit of the devil. Love, loves to be displayed. Shame hates to be exposed.

    This is a very short expose’ of shame. My book goes into far greater details, and shows it is Biblical. It was shown all thru the Bible, but it is easily overlooked as we look for other things we would rather know about. I’ll try to show how pride is also a result of shame in a later post. DavWms

  5. David L. Williams said

    Pride. That feeling that pops up unexpectedly when we think we have it whipped by God putting us thru a humbling experience. Here, we are not talking about the example that might first come to mind, that of seeing a boastful person. This one is more insidious and well hidden.

    In my Post # 4 above, I mentioned the vows we made as children, and how they live on within us hidden not only from others, but from ourselves, as well. To make sure we understand what I mean by this, let’s give an example. Often, we heard that a certain desirable thing was to come up in our future, and it pleased us. In the interim, we may have thot about that coming event sometimes, but not all the time. It was an expectation of something good coming, and in a way, it was alive in us until the event came about. But it was a sub-conscious expectation.

    Likewise, the expectation that someday we are going to show “all those people” that we are worthy and should not have been scorned or worse, lives on sub-consciously in us. Time passes, and one day we find we have fit into life. In some cases, we may have done quite well. It may bring satisfactory feelings of accomplishment. But where do those feelings come from? They come from an inner knowing we have at last accomplished our childhood vows, and we are now “showing those people.”

    We now feel competent to lead other people that we do not even know we consider as below us. And we don’t know the source of that feeling that sneaks in after we have accomplished something others admire. Most stop right there, and now and then scold ourselves for feeling pride at our accomplishment.

    But sometimes at this point, in steps “arrogance,” the twin brother of pride. This is where we assume we have all the answers, and no one can tell us differently. We have not only fulfilled our vows, but now we are proud of our glory, but don’t realize it. It is the same blindness as the Pharisees had.

    I feel I must also give thot to those who sense they have not accomplished those vows. With that, there often comes depression, without knowing why. It is an inner sense of failure, from unmet expectations. This often comes in mid-life, and we even call it mid-life crisis.

    All the efforts of evil spirits were designed to keep us from fully loving ourselves without knowing why, and if they succeeded, that keeps us from fully loving others. Including God. This in turn keeps us from fully accomplishing the calling that God has on us as individuals.

    People are unaware of the real wiles of the devil. Churches fail to explore them deeply, and fail the sheep. Thus, the blind continue to lead the blind into the pit by presenting happiness programs, designed to keep our eyes off the real truth. DavWms

  6. Based on the letter he left, it sounds like he was a target of a practice that is being termed Gang Stalking.

    http://www.GangStalkingWorld.com

    This involved rumours, slander, 24/7 surveillance, constant job loss, moving from place to place, and community harassment. Most targets of this practice commit suicide, or end up being falsly institutionalised. Other just like workplace mobbing, do commit acts of violence.

    I suggest that those who care about the people that died, help request his Freedom Of Information Act records, the public has a right to know if these types of ongoing investigation are driving people to acts of violence.

Leave a Reply

 
