Jesus Christ Is Lord

That every knee should bow and every tongue should confess that Jesus Christ is Lord to the glory of God the Father!

Baptist Woman Loses Job Over Saying Merry Christmas

Posted by Job on December 26, 2008

Fla. woman claims ‘Merry Christmas’ got her fired

7 Responses to “Baptist Woman Loses Job Over Saying Merry Christmas”

  1. This woman is only one witness and her claim is in dispute. If her employer is true in saying she was fired for other reasons, she could simply be claiming a “Christmas” angle to try and get over via public sympathy. Sort of like people who claim racial discrimination when they were fired for other reasons. And if the employer is Christian as they claim to be, it would be a 1 Corinthians 6 problem for this woman to even bring a legal claim against them at all. (And there are reasons she should not even if they are not Christian, which I will detail later in this comment.)

    There is no Christian mandate to celebrate Christmas, it’s a Romans 14:5 matter. We know the early church didn’t have a “Christmas” celebration and it’s a holiday invented by the Vatican. One we who claim groups such as “Baptist” didn’t even acknowledge till more recent years. I celebrate Christmas, but let’s be honest, this is not some bedrock of the faith for someone to fight their employer over. While in the service of an employer, if the employer wants “Happy Holidays” said, either find another job or say “Happy Holidays”.

    And we do have New Year’s coming, so there is more than one national holiday coming. I can’t say I know anyone who acknowledges Christmas and does not acknowledge New Years. I do understand the woman’s concern if her claim is true, I say “Merry Christmas” myself, but when in the service of an employer, you either do it their way or LEAVE. Her trying to be disobedient and force the employer to do it “her way” is not something I find jiving well with Titus 2:9-10 and 1 Peter 2:18-20. The Apostles never setup any Christian legal defense groups and given their admonishment not to be disruptive with an employer when abused for the faith, one has to wonder if the Religious Industry’s legal zeal has any true foundation in the Word of God. I’m starting to think not.

    And I thank God through Jesus Christ that this case came up. Because when I first saw it on a secular news site I got stirred up, but after some contemplation and thinking what the Word of God really says, I had to adjust my view a bit.

  2. Job said

    IC:

    “And I thank God through Jesus Christ that this case came up. Because when I first saw it on a secular news site I got stirred up, but after some contemplation and thinking what the Word of God really says, I had to adjust my view a bit.”

    Well, I thank God too, because I had the opposite reaction! My first post criticized this Christian sister for losing her job – and her opportunity to be a living witness on it – over trying to impose her views on the very world that crucified Christ and that Jesus Christ is going to judge (and yes, that does include the economic systems of the world, which Revelation associated strongly with the harlot mystery Babylon). But I decided that it wasn’t right and just removed my commentary, and decided to let my title and the article speak for itself.

  3. The Prodigal Son said

    This is just a small part of the war on Christmas… which is – of course – part of the war on Christ Himself. So who – ultimately – can be behind it but anti-Christ ? ~~~ This Harper fellow says the best thing is just to say nothing… if everyone follows his advice – we lose ! They will make it so we cannot say ‘Merry Christmas’ ANYWHERE in public… The exact opposite is true… if everyone fearlessly defended their Constitutionally protected right to FREE SPEECH, then WE would win ! They couldn’t fire us all ! ~~~ Also, to ‘Independant Conservative’, I say : There are many people who don’t celebrate the New Year when we do… but I’ve never heard of anyone getting fired for saying, “Happy New Year !”. ~~~ And JUST ONCE – I would like to hear about someone getting fired for saying, “Happy Chanukkah” ! But I think we all know THAT will NEVER happen…

  4. The Prodigal Son said

    Also, Independant Conservative… you reference Romans 14:5 – “One person regards one day above another, another regards every day alike. Each person must be fully convinced in his own mind. “…, but why not also include the next verse, 14:6 – “He who observes the day observes it for the Lord, and he who eats does so for the Lord, for he gives thanks to God; and he who eats not, for the Lord he does not eat, and gives thanks to God.”…, or how about 14:16 – “Therefore do not let what is for you a good thing be spoken of as evil.”…~~~ To me 14:16 tells this woman to protect her freedom of religious expression, and is telling her (supposedly) Christian boss not to judge her for exercising that freedom.

  5. Dear “The Prodigal Son”, you’ve removed the context of my citation of scripture. See the paragraph breaks and separate statements in my prior comment. My appeal to Romans 14:5 was to prove that there is NO mandate that Christians observe Christmas. No matter if anyone says Merry Christmas or not, it’s not going to do a thing to save their soul.

    Who is in charge at the office, the employer or the employee? You’re appealing to the US Constitution, please see my prior comment again and see what I appeal to regarding how Christians should conduct themselves when in the service of an employer. Did I not cite scripture that affirms you must dutifully serve the employer even if they are unreasonable? A woman observing Christmas herself is fine, but she’s got no authority from which to declare that she mandates the phone greeting on her job. Do you also feel she had “freedom of religion” to answer the phones and say “you better believe in Jesus today or you’re going to hell”? While a true statement the phone is the property of the employer, not the employee, the employee works at the pleasure of the employer. If the employee does not like the terms set by the employer, the employee has the option to find other employment. The employee does not have any scriptural standing to dictate to the employer how to answer a telephone.

    I would like to hear about someone getting fired for saying, “Happy Chanukkah” ! But I think we all know THAT will NEVER happen…

    And nobody at that business was answering phones saying “Happy Chanukkah”, even Hebrews don’t go answering phones saying “Happy Chanukkah” to people who don’t observe their customs and traditions. What business can I call during Chanukkah and hear anyone say “Happy Chanukkah”. You’re making up scenarios that have no foundation in reality.

    They will make it so we cannot say ‘Merry Christmas’ ANYWHERE in public… The exact opposite is true… if everyone fearlessly defended their Constitutionally protected right to FREE SPEECH, then WE would win ! They couldn’t fire us all !

    You’ve somehow tried to connect rules in a workplace with what you can say in public. The article has nothing to do with what you can say in public, but what rules an employee is bound to with an employer. (And really, you can wave the laws of man all you want, every lawyer knows the woman has NO CASE, because even under man’s laws the employer wins on this one.)

  6. The Prodigal Son said

    Independant Conservative… ~~~ You asked, “What busines can I call during channukah and hear anyone say ‘happy chanukkah’ ?”… ~~~ Try ‘Urban Moving Systems’, or ‘Odigo’… maybe just Google those two businesses for starters…

  7. The Prodigal Son said:

    Independant Conservative… ~~~ You asked, “What busines can I call during channukah and hear anyone say ‘happy chanukkah’ ?”… ~~~ Try ‘Urban Moving Systems’, or ‘Odigo’… maybe just Google those two businesses for starters…

    Seems they both have some interesting links to the events of 9/11, but I don’t see anything about their employees answering phones with a “Happy Hanukkah”. Regardless, there are some companies that use “Merry Christmas” and some that do not and I doubt any that have told employees to say “Happy Holidays” would approve of anyone saying “Happy Hanukkah”. (And many saying “Merry Christmas” only do it for motives of greed to get your money. Scripture says when I go buy meat, buy and don’t ask where it came from, not see if I can pressure the salesperson to say Merry Christmas.)

    I’ve laid out many other points in my response to you, even other questions for you. Feel free to address them if you like.

Leave a Reply

 
