Jesus Christ Is Lord

That every knee should bow and every tongue should confess that Jesus Christ is Lord to the glory of God the Father!

How To Deal With Jehovah’s Witnesses

Posted by Job on October 2, 2008

From Fancied Freedom. Part 1

How to know you’re talking to a Jehovah’s Witness

It’s quite simple, actually. If you are asked whether you read the Bible, and you reply by saying, “Yes, I am Christian,” and the person kindly ignores you but proceeds to hand you literature on how to know what the Bible says, you are talking to a Jehovah’s Witness.

That was my experience today, as I got out of my car and got my son out of his car seat, and tried to make my way inside the house to eat lunch. Two women walk up to me from their parked car across the street and begin speaking with me about some home Bible studies they lead. And then the conversation continues with me receiving a “biblical” education even though I had already stated that I read the Bible. Perhaps I should’ve been more clear, maybe saying that I “religiously” read the Bible and know “exactly” what it says about suffering, sin and salvation. (Well, I don’t know it all but I know what’s necessary.)

In any event, I was completely dumbfounded the rest of the afternoon at how she just ignored the fact that I read the Bible. Did that not even matter? Usually when I meet someone and find out they are Christian, I’m really excited because we have Christ in common. However, that was not the case today, because I had nothing in common with this woman. She doesn’t know Christ – she knows a false christ as part of a false religion. Therefore, I shall pray for her, and for my response if she decides to return with more propaganda. Since I believe in a Sovereign God, I believe there are no coincidences and there could possibly be a chance to show her the true Christ.

For such men are false apostles, deceitful workers, disguising themselves as apostles of Christ. No wonder, for even Satan disguises himself as an angel of light. Therefore it is not surprising if his servants also disguise themselves as servants of righteousness, whose end will be according to their deeds. 2 Corinthians 11:13-15

Part 2

 

Approached by the Jehovah’s Witness again

You may remember a previous post about an impromptu meeting with two Jehovah’s Witnesses. I was approached at home as I was unloading my car. Even though I told the kind ladies that I am Christian and do read the Bible, they proceeded to hand me their literature. My husband threw it away.

So, today, as I’m in the middle of trying to feed my son lunch, a knock at the door interrupts me. Looking through the peephole, I recognize that my visitor is none other than one of the Jehovah’s Witnesses that greeted me a week ago. Hesitantly, I opened the door and our conversation began.

She asked if I read through the materials she handed me and I said I did but explained that I am born again, go to a Christian, Bible-based church and do not believe what Jehovah’s Witnesses believe (they don’t believe in the deity of Christ or His physical resurrection.) In a somewhat defensive tone, she told me that even though I am not the same religion, we have God in common and it doesn’t mean we can’t talk.

I never said we couldn’t talk – she didn’t listen to me and I explained to her that I would be glad to talk with her, that I do talk to people of other faiths. But that I profess Jesus Christ as my Savior and read my Bible and go to my church and that I do not believe what Jehovah’s Witnesses believe so I did not need her literature. Again, she said there is no reason why we can’t talk. She proceeded to show me some Bible verses (in her Bible) and asked me questions about the sinfulness of man and God’s Kingdom.

By this time, my son was screaming for his lunch so I kindly explained that I needed to go and tend to my godly duties of caring for my son and she thanked me for my time. I’m not sure if she’ll be back but I certainly need to be better prepared and maybe even ask her some questions.

Again, my explanation of my faith fell on deaf ears. It was even funnier (is that a word?) how she thought I had said I couldn’t talk to her when I actually had said I am born again and go to a Christian church. The things we “think” we hear when we’re not listening.

Need to know how to respond to a JW? Here’s a good Web site.

5 Responses to “How To Deal With Jehovah’s Witnesses”

  1. timbob said

    Wow. It’s interesting when we say something and it’s met with almost a programmed response. Such is common with Jehovahs Witnesses as they are presenting another Jesus and must rely on their publications as to effectively portray that other Jesus.

    In this area, they come around every once in a while, but when they learn of where I fellowship, they offer up a pleasent “well nice to have met you” and leave. Perhaps this isn’t very spiritual on my part, but I tend to intentionally tell them where I fellowship for this reason. Only the Lord can open the eyes of the blind. If it’s truly a divine appointment and he is giving them eyes to see, they’ll stick around. If not, any conversation will only result in endless dialog and as such I refer to II John 10-11.

    Very eye-opening post. Have a blessed day in Jesus.

    timbob

  2. It’s really really annoying… I get mail from them sometimes and even though I tell them that “yes, I have read the Bible and read it a LOT and know what’s essential” they still say, “well, a lot of people don’t interpret it right” or just keep on going and ignoring what I’ve been saying. They also have handed me tracts and things… “because you need to know exactly what Jehovah God is saying to you”

    I guess to them “talk” means them talking, and you listening and being “open” to what they’re listening. In the sense that your brains fall out.

  3. The Prodigal Son said

    Actually, there is a Biblical recommendation on how to deal w/ Jehovah’s Witnesses, etc. and you have not described it, nor have you dealt w/ them in the prescribed manner as follows… ~~~ ~~~ … “For many deceivers have gone out into the world who do not confess Jesus Christ as coming in the flesh. This is a deceiver and an Anti-Christ. Look to yourselves, that we do not lose those things we worked for, but that we may receive a full reward… ~~~ … Whoever transgresses and does not abide in the doctrine of Christ does not have God. He who abides in the doctrine of Christ has both the Father and the Son. If anyone comes to you and does not bring this doctrine, do not receive him into your house nor greet him; for he who greets him shares in his evil deeds.” … – II John :7-11 ~~~ ~~~ Clearly the woman you received into your house did not bring the doctrine of the Incarnation of Christ with her (as you well know), so her response was likely automatic, the result of freguent rejections on this basis.

  4. isaiah30v8 said

    I think many households in predominantly Christian Nations do not openly welcome Jehovah’s Witnesses because their door to door ministry seems designed to mislead the housholder into beleiving the same lies that Satan told in the Garden of Eden.

    If you read the following newsletter you should see the parallels to the Edenic Sin:

    They really are like Satan dressed in a nice suit and tie knocking on your door!

    No wonder so many Nations have banned them!

  5. god'sgirl said

    What scriptures can you recommend I have ready to confront a Jehovah’s Witness with?

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 935 other followers

