Jesus Christ Is Lord

That every knee should bow and every tongue should confess that Jesus Christ is Lord to the glory of God the Father!

Less than 10% of Professed Christians have read the entire Bible!

Posted by Job on January 23, 2008

(C) Copyright 2007, Bill Keller Ministries. All rights reserved.

liveprayer.com/signup.cfm

(Matthew 24:35) Having preached to several hundred thousand people in evangelistic meetings in churches of all denominations throughout the country, having ministered
to millions via television and radio through the years, and having prayed
for and intimately counseled thousands and thousands of people over my 18
years of ministry…I would have to say the biggest problem I have
encountered with Believers is the vast majority have never read the
instruction manual!!!

Statistical research shows that less than 10% of professing Christians have
ever read the entire Bible. The church as a whole is Biblically illiterate!
From time to time in my Devotional I will give my opinion on an issue and I
am very careful to always let you know when it is Bill Keller’s opinion.
Most of the time I just let God’s words speak for themselves. There is not
one issue, one thing we deal with in everyday life that is not covered in
the Bible.

How many people are in terrible marriages where one spouse is a nonbeliever.
Do you think God admonished us to “not be unequally yoked” for nothing? How
about those dealing with horrible illnesses because they abused themselves
over the years with alcohol, cigarettes, drugs, and food. Does God not tell
us our body is the Temple of the Holy Spirit? How many families are ripped
apart by bitterness and hatred when the Bible commands us to “have love one
for another,” to “forgive as Christ has forgiven you,” and to “love your
enemies.” I have to be honest. In many cases it is not as much rebellion
towards God as it is complete ignorance of God’s Word.

Like many men, I get a new electronic toy and the first thing I do is open
the box, toss the instructions to the side, and start “putting it together.”
Usually after a period of time when it is not working or I have broken
something, I grab the instructions and put it together correctly. How much
easier would it have been if I had done that first. It is the same in our
walk with God. Many people claim they can’t hear God. God may be talking to
you and you can’t hear Him because you don’t know what to be listening for.
The Bible is one way that God speaks to us. If you want to hear God, just
read the Book.

I know that those who get this Devotional each day are of above average
intelligence which is why I am very direct and to the point. I share things
knowing that you are smart enough to understand what God expects you to do,
I don’t have to paint a picture. So if you ever listened to me at all,
listen to what I am going to say to you now. This applies to everyone, even
those that may have read the Bible cover to cover 100 times.

***It takes an individual of average reading ability 90 hours to read the
entire Bible. That is one hour a day for 3 months, or one half hour a day
for 6 months, or 15 minutes a day for 12 months. Most people make New Year’s
resolutions. Here is one for you with eternal rewards and will be more
valuable than losing 10 pounds that you will just put back on. Carve out one
hour, 30 minutes, or 15 minutes every day starting January 1st and start
reading at Genesis 1:1. One hour, 30 minutes, or 15 minutes, you choose. I
suggest that for those 90 days, or 6 months, or the next 12 months, you get
up that amount of time earlier than normal and do it the very first thing.
Trust me, God will give you the strength you need during the day. Losing a
little sleep will not kill you. Quite the opposite. It will save you 100
times that in lost sleep over the years from problems caused because you
didn’t take time to read the instruction book.

( If you would like to listen to the “Walk thru the Bible in a year” via the
telephone, the phone number is: 1-727.342.5672 )

Now listen, I understand that some of the Old Testament can be dry. The
Jewish laws, the genealogy of kings, some of the prophetic books can be very
confusing and at times boring. Plug on. Don’t get discouraged because you
don’t understand everything you are reading. Having read the Bible cover to
cover many, many, many times, each time is a new experience for me. WARNING:
I am not the Bible answer man so don’t start flooding me with questions.
I’ll pray for you anytime, but I cannot handle thousands of Bible questions.
I do suggest though you keep a notepad of questions and talk them over with
your pastor.

Trust me when I tell you, reading the Bible cover to cover will change your
life. You will see things you never thought were in the Bible. You will see
God’s warnings and promises to help you through tough times. Most of all,
you will start to understand how God thinks. How can you please God if you
don’t understand how He thinks? He knows you are not a mind reader. That is
one reason He gave you the Bible so you could begin to understand what God
expects from your life.

I promise you the time you spend reading the Bible cover to cover will be
the most important time of your life. I cannot emphasize enough the
importance of what I am challenging you to do. Start at the very beginning.
That way you can see God from the creation of our world, to the very end. It
is better than any book or movie you have ever read or seen.

The Bible is our final authority for all matters concerning this life. In
this day of being politically correct, accepting everyone’s beliefs and
ideas, we are in the mess we are morally and spiritually because we have
gotten away from the black and white truth of God’s Word. We have no one to
blame but ourselves. In this day of instant gratification, drive thru food,
cell phones, fax machines, email, Federal Express, jet travel, we want what
we want now and refuse to wait.

We have become lazy which is why we don’t take the time to read the Bible. I
guarantee you that you will spend 90 hours plus in front of the television,
the computer, with the newspaper, or doing something else that you enjoy. I
am not saying quit living and enjoying your life. What I am saying is that
you have the time, it is only a matter of whether this is a big enough
priority for you to take the time.

I love you, care about you, and my heart breaks every day as I read the
thousands of prayer requests I receive. How much heartache and pain could
have been avoided if people would have only read the Book and followed the
instructions. You cannot believe how much sense this life makes when you are
living under the direction of God’s Word. As I say often, our way does not
work, God’s way does!

I will be praying that the Lord really opens your heart and conviction
floods you right now as you read these words. I can’t force you to do it,
you have to want to do it. I will be praying and trusting the Holy Spirit to
move on your heart to take this challenge, even now as you read these words.
This will be the best New Year’s resolution you will ever make.

In His love and service,
Your friend and brother in Christ,
Bill Keller bkeller@liveprayer.com

***ARE YOU 100% CERTAIN WHERE YOU WILL SPEND ETERNITY? The fact is you will
die one day. At that moment, you will either spend eternity with the Lord or
be cast into everlasting darkness forever separated from God your creator.
To know for certain you will be forever with Jesus, go to:
http://www.liveprayer.com/bdy_salvatn.cfm

***I am excited to let you know that the Liveprayer Daily Devotional is now
available via AUDIO each day. Simply go to http://www.liveprayer.com/Audio.cfm
Also, you can now listen to the Daily Devotional by phone by calling 1-727-342-5673

34 Responses to “Less than 10% of Professed Christians have read the entire Bible!”

  1. inspiredword said

    Yes,l agree.I wrote an article on 15 Dec 2007 on a smilar topic.Can be found at

    http://inspiredword.wordpress.com/2007/12/15/are-you-living-on-supplements/

  2. inspiredword said

    Yes,l agree.I wrote an article on 15 Dec 2007 on a smilar topic.Can be found at

    http://inspiredword.wordpress.com/2007/12/15/are-you-living-on-supplements/

  3. jon said

    I appreciate most of what you are says, but as a pastor who has spent years reading the bible, and therefore has a pretty good grasp on how long it takes to read the bible, I must say that you are grossly underestimating the time required to read the entire bible. There is no possible way “an individual of average reading ability” can read the whole bible in 90 hours! There are 66 books in the bible, so you would have to average just over 1 hour per book. There are only a handful of Paul’s letters that you can read in 1 hour; and would never come close to that speed in any of the gospels, Acts, Romans, Revelation, Psalms, the first 5 books, etc.

    • John Choi said

      We give in to Satan to easily….

      Stop giving excuses… We can read a novel, watch t.v., surf the net, go to theme parks, bowling, etc… but we can finish reading the Bible???

      • Jim said

        what are you talking about. Jon said it takes way longer than 90 hours to read the bible and he is right.

        Your response makes no sense with regard to Jon’s complaint.

    • Charlotte said

      approximately 6 chapters a day, you can read in 30 minutes, will take you 180 days to finish, that’s six months. We’re not talking about doing a word study, stopping to take notes, look up greek and hebrew meanings, we’re talking about reading it through, and it would take an average of 90 hours (not all in one sitting) to do.

  4. ot4christ said

    Jon, you are confusing your numbers. A better analysis of the amount of time to read the bible is to take the 1189 chapters and divide by 365 days. That’s about 3.25 chapters per day. Even the slowest of readers can tackle that in much less than an hour. Some parts are difficult, like the first 9 chapters of 1 Chronicles. Many groups have taken on the task of reading through the entire bible in a relay “marathon” of sorts. If you still think it can’t be read in 90 hours, just take a look at an audio bible. The Dramatized NIV from Zondervan runs a totoal of 76 hours!!

    I find it sad that someone can claim to love God’s Word and not have read it or be in the process of reading it. When I first got saved, I read the entire bible in 2 months, granted it was the Good News version, but it was the start of a regular practice of reading.

  5. ot4christ said

    Jon, you are confusing your numbers. A better analysis of the amount of time to read the bible is to take the 1189 chapters and divide by 365 days. That’s about 3.25 chapters per day. Even the slowest of readers can tackle that in much less than an hour. Some parts are difficult, like the first 9 chapters of 1 Chronicles. Many groups have taken on the task of reading through the entire bible in a relay “marathon” of sorts. If you still think it can’t be read in 90 hours, just take a look at an audio bible. The Dramatized NIV from Zondervan runs a totoal of 76 hours read aloud!!

    I find it sad that someone can claim to love God’s Word and not have read it or at least be in the process of reading it. When I first got saved, I read the entire bible in 2 months, granted it was the Good News version, but it was the start of a regular practice of reading.

  6. non-believer said

    You read the bible all the way through and you still consider yourself a xtian. Of course it was with a closed mind considering the murder, incest, sodomy, attrocities, contradictions, and down right plagiarism from other earlier religions preceeding judaism. But of course you are doing exactly what they expect from you.

    • Jay Mark D. Gutierrez said

      i read the bible all the way and i can say that you do not know how i feel right now for having it read twice. You will never know it not in in a million times or how many seconds, minutes, hours or times that passes by unless you realize how wrong you are.

      Proverbs 11:21 “Be sure of this: The wicked will not go unpunished, but those who are righteous will go free.”

      Ezekiel 33:11 “Say to them, ‘As surely as I live, declares the Sovereign Lord, I take no pleasure in the death of the wicked, but rather that they turn from their ways and live. Turn! Turn from your evil ways! Why will you die, O house of Israel?’”

      You are not happy with your life but rather you continue to deceive yourselves that everything’s fine with your life when it actually isn’t. Trust me! The only sure joy and happiness in this life is being with God’s presence. If only, you will take a chance and know him better, then, he will be found by you.

      I wish all the best for you even though i do not know you yet i know that there is goodness in you but your desire for the world and a continuing struggle for your rights in what you believe in because you have noone to answer the questions or more over the things you can’t even express in words overwhelms your faith to trust in God more over to yourself. Your thoughts confuse you but I know God is faithful and he desires to teach you what is best for you through his word and his mysterious ways.

      Isaih 48:17-19

      This is what the Lord says—
      your Redeemer, the Holy One of Israel:

      “I am the Lord your God,
      who teaches you what is best for you,
      who directs you in the way you should go.
      18If only you had paid attention to my commands,
      your peace would have been like a river,
      your righteousness like the waves of the sea.
      19Your descendants would have been like the sand,
      your children like its numberless grains;
      their name would never be cut off
      nor destroyed from before me.”

      God Bless you! more and more, ,

  7. elizisrael said

    I have a hard time believing that a pastor and avid reader of the Good book does not even capitalize the title. It is the Bible…. God’s word…. If you don’t capitalize that, I guess nothing deserves to be capitalized.

  8. Theresa said

    I am 18 years old and I have been trying to read the whole Bible for about 3 years now. I only have 2 books left. Joshua and Judges. I have been reading a chapter a day. But even though I may know a lot about the Bible because i actually read it, there are very few people I can talk to about the Bible who understand what I am talking about especially people my age. Some times when I start talking about the Bible some people look at me funny, like I’m stupid or something, but they just don’t know what I’m talking about or some times they may say things like, “I don’t really know. I really don’t read the Bible much.” And it’s like the only story people know about David is David and Goliath, but there is much, much more about him than that and they are not always good things, like all the wives that he had. People who don’t read the Bible don’t know that. They think the only time he has ever committed adultery was with Bathsheba or they think that just because they did those things that God thought it was okay, but if they would just read they Bible they would realize that it’s not true. Even the old testament says that it’s not okay many times. Some people don’t even bring there Bible to church with them anymore. I undertand forgetting to bring it evey once in a while, but some people never bring one at all even thought they have one. They just let the preacher tell them what they need to know, but they never read it for themself. I don’t understand some people. I mean didn’t Jesus say that man shall not live by bread alone, but by the word of God. It says that in Deuteronomy chapter 8 too.

    • Jay Mark D. Gutierrez said

      Hi! Its very good to know you have only two 2 chapters left for you to complete reading the whole bible. I hope that you actually did by now. the date says that you posted this a very long time. I can relate well to your story and i know its hard to share God’s word to people who would doesn’t have any idea to what you are talking about. I am 18 yrs. old as well and i hope you continue to be a blessing even more for many people.

      God bless you!

    • Hannah Emilie said

      I am 15 years old and have almost read the Bible twice now. I know how you feel Theresa. Even when i go to our youth group, I am usually the only one who ever even brings a Bible, and if someone else brings one, I end up helping them find the book of the Bible we are looking for. like you said, these kids dont know much about the bible at all because they have never taken the time to read it! Teens that call themselves Christians spend tons of money and many hours reading Harry Potter or Twilight, and many more hours playing video games or watching movies, but they can’t pick up their dusty old Bible for five mins every morning!!! I understand how frustrating it is to not be able to discuss things in the Bible with people our own age. Stay strong!! And congrats on reading the entire Bible!!

      God bless ya!
      ~Hannah Emilie

  9. John Kaniecki said

    Theresa,

    Hi hope you are well.

    Keep on reading. Keep on talking about the Word of God. I encourage you to investigate everything anybody claims about the Bible.

    I started reading the Bible when I was twennty. Now I am forty three. There is nothing like it.

    Love,

    John

    • Theresa said

      Thank you very much. I have know of 2 other friends of mine who are my age that have read the whole Bible. my friend Hannah and my friend Josh. I asked Josh why he wanted to read the whole thing and he told me that he did it simply because he wanted to. I wish more Christians were like that. I wish they would just read it becuase they want to because christians should want to. I don’t think there is anything wrong with reading other books, but it’s like they have all the time in the world to read everything else except the Bible. That should be our number one. Some people become brainwashed by cults becuase they don’t realize that what they tell people is not in the Bible althought they my claim that what they do is in the name of God. what I can’t stand most of all is that people actually believe them. That’s just sad.

  10. John Kaniecki said

    Theresa,

    Hi hope you are well.

    It’s not only reading it but rightly dividing the Word of God. But the more you know the better off your are.

    The Bible is very exact in it’s wording. Unfortunately I cannot read Greek. However I am trying to become intimate and learn the exact wordings. I can tell you all the stories in the gospels. I am trying to learn the other parts just as well. This is quite a task as the Old Testament is quite large.

    If you understand the Word of God you will understand life. The principles it teaches will guide you and direct you.

    Theresa keep on reading and learning.

    Love,

    John

    • Theresa said

      yeah you’re right because even people who don’t believe in God can read the bible. It’s not just about reading. we should rightly divid it as you would say. Thanks. :]

  11. Jay Mark D. Gutierrez said

    Hello! I appreciate your article so much. I myself have read the entire whole bible twice. I spent 5 months for the first and i month for the second time that i have read it. I can never forget the time when I finally read the least word of the bible “Amen” i treasure every second of the moment. September 17, 2008 was the day that i achieve my goal of having read the bible cover to cover. It was pretty hard because i had to persevere under many distractions including the best of them all, my studies. I couldn’t read the bible during weekdays of monday to thursday because of my priorities as a student. therefore, i looked forward to weekends of friday, saturday and sunday. The moment I got home from the boarding house, the number one thing in my mind was to read the bible to completion. I looked forward to the moment of completing it which i finally had as my unforgettable memory.Sometimes, i would even skip my meal in the night and go on with an overtime till the moment i hear a rooster with his alarm. My eyes were as good as asleep and it was only my patience and love for the word that serve as my driving force. It never came to my mind to read the bible the second time until 4 months have gone by. I was so filed with joy those times and so with my present that i figured i have to read it again. And so it was what i did. I read it again. Those times, we had no more class since it was vacation. i finally was at home to the place of my childhood because i had to spent 5 hours to travel from the place where i am studying to the place i consider home. There i began my struggle of reading it. For 29 days, all i had in mind was reading the bible to completion. Everyday was like that of yesterday. I wake up in the morning, do some chores and in the afternoon, i read it. i spent an estimate of 3 to 5 hours to read it. Note please that i’m not a nerd whom typical people consider as having eye glasses and teeth with braces. Although, i do have braces, maybe at some point you could consider me as one but not a whole percent. I would consider to define a nerd as industrious in studies more over.If i don’t fall asleep in the afternoon, then i would have probably spent less of the time than the previous days. I read the whole Genesis only looking forward to exodus then to Leviticus and so on. A book i was reading those times was accompanied with the thought of the next chapter to read. It was a joy to finish a book of the old testament and another with the next. I read from monday to friday and i don’t read at saturdays although the desire of continuing the reading was overwhelming, i made patience as my instrument to take a break for the day in respect for what the Lord commanded about the sabbath. It was only in those days that i have obeyed this command for i had no more classes those times in opposite to those previous months when i did. It wasn’t easy, truly, i promise it. you had to be still in a patient kind of way to keep your heart on the price for in reading the bible again, there is a very big contribution of what you feel inside rather than to the first where you were aiming on proving something for yourself that you could actually read the whole bible from cover to cover as what other peole couldn’t due to lack of willingness, responsibility for prior things or more over the idea for it because you can never achieve something unless you had thoughts of it first. Can you build a house without sitting first and calculating the cost? The world has so many distractions to offer that one might never have the idea of reading it cover-to-cover and even if he actually did have it in mind, you can never be sure if he would do it or not for here comes ignorance as a stumbling block. It requires dedication for the task of doing it. i remember one time when it was saturday and i was so looking forward to reading the bible that i actually stayed up late looking at the clock and waiting until it passes 12 that i can resume my reading. It did but i waited 5 minutes more with patience and continued. My usual time of reading the bible those times was at the afternoon but i nobody said anything about keeping it so i read it early in the morning and still had time for church. I started reading the bible the second time sunday and i made it a fact that i finished it again sunday. This time, i used a different bible. Now, i have at least 2 bibles that i finished and even though i lost the second one, i do hope that the person who found it would be a blessing for her or him. the first bible i finished reading had a different version with the second one. Now, i prequently study my 3rd bible and hope to show God’s love for everyone even more. I agree with you that one will see things in a new and better perspective the moment he have read the whole entire bible. i have known none who have read the entire bible but its very heart warming to know that I’m not the only one who have done it. I’m happy that there are people who loved the word of God so much that they get into the job of reading it. But, i suggests that people would not made themselves over religious and only have a balanced, just and right way of glorifying God as a christian as what Proverbs 25:16 “says If you find honey, eat just enough—too much of it, and you will vomit.” I do believe that people could have the will to study God’s word more that just reading it for the achievement of having read the entire bible should never be something to use to be boast of nor should it be use for envy purposes but to inspire others with their faith in God and more over guide them. Thank you for the article. I appreciate it so much and i hope that you would continue to be a blessing to people with the things that you wrote. I believe that its up to a person and not the average reading ability to read the whole bible. All, i can say is that you can never realize how good it is unless you feel it yourself. Try to read the bible until the page where you are on the half of completing it and smile, noone can take the joy of the fulfillment of your goal away from you. Pray first before doing anything or opening it that God may give you guidance. Proverbs 14:10 “The heart knows its own bitterness, 1 and with its joy no one else 2 can share.” Life is not easy but it is not hard as well with God around. God bless! for everyone

  12. Keegan said

    Hello,

    I thought the number was much higher. 10% of Christians have not read the bible? Where does this statistical data come from? When was the last time someone compiled all of the data, and how legitimate is it?

    I honestly am not a Christian anymore, and this was due to READING the bible.

    Although I do not practice a religion, it did make me more faithful that there was a god, because obviously evil must truly exist to conspire the lies and contradictions within it’s pages.

    I thought that maybe only 20% have read the bible, but only 10%? Wow. In my personal experience, I have met more Athiests who have read the bible, that started out as Christians, trying to explore their faith. That’s sad, since I think if they just tried to explore spiritualism rather than simply cutting off the notion of God altogether, they might not have to post so many you tube videos.

    • Jeremy said

      What was it in the Bible that made you reject Jesus? I also want to know where this ‘statistical data’ comes from?

      • Darryl said

        I also have read the bible all the way through . Also looking up the word definitions that I did not understand in the Strong’s Concordance. I did all of this to improve my faith . Sadly , what I discovered was that Jesus is not a historical man that lived a life in a flesh body like everyone else, but is merely a story character in a book called the bible. The character Jesus has no history other than the bible and is a symbolic metaphor of the Sun traveling about with the twelve signs of the zodiac(his disciples). This is called astro-theology. All of the holy days in Christianity fall on the days of the Sun . December 25th is the actual birthday of the Sun , as the Sun has been dead for three days preceding the 25th and on the 25th rises up one degree to the north headed towards the hot days of summer once again. I wasted 40 years of my life in the delusion of Christianity, but because I actually read the bible and looked up the words that I lacked understanding of, I woke up. Jesus is just as historical as Jack and the Beanstalk, but as long as people ignore the historical aspect of Jesus, then people will remain in delusion. Jesus is the “Sun of god” but tell that to someone whose mind has been programmed to believe instead of think..

  13. Viviane said

    Dear, I aprreciate your article, to. I agree is so important to read the bible every day, as than I eat and drink water. In fact the bible is our food. I’ve read the bible frequentely and have ever read twice.
    I hope the christians stand up!!!

    In God,

    Viviane

  14. Reader said

    I just read your article and the comments. I’m wondering if you ever told where this statistic came from. If you did I missed it.

    • Job said

      No, Bill Keller did not provide where he received the statistics. However, many surveys, including the Pew Religious Forum and the Barna Religion surveys, confirm these and similar.

  15. Jeff said

    ISIAIh 41 BRING forth your IDOLS did they PREACH to you see they can’t speak they can’t DO ANYTHING all they do is cause confusion. Jeremiah 10 they nail their IDOL down like a scarecrow it can’t move can’t speak can’t move must be carried these are nothing but the WORK of CON men. spalms 115 and spalms 135 thier IDOLS are FALSE cant speak can’t hear cant smell and those that make them shall become like them. john 10 jesus christ sais his sheep hear his voice and another voice thy will not follow and if another person tries to preach to them they WILL FLEE from him. jeremiah 5 the priests bear rule on their own authority what will you do when your judged my word is not inside them. Now here is the kicker john 5 son of man voice goes back in time mathew 16 jesus christ claims to be the son of man.‎1 cor2 mind of CHRIST preached internally and john 16 sais the spirit of truth comes in the future. Ezekiel 13 lying prophets of ISRAEL my word is not inside them saying god sais god sais god sais wrote hoping mankind would CONFIRM their WORDS. all of this is EASILY verifiable

  16. I would be interested in knowing what the source of the statistic ( only 10% of Christians have read the entire Bible ) is.

    Thanks in advance, either way.

  17. Quora said

    What percentage of Christians have read the Bible?…

    That would be tough to say. First, you would have to define a Christian, which is hard to define. Second, you would have to define read the Bible. Would that mean have read from cover to cover. Or read it in parts throughout their life. I think it woul…

  18. Koko Ishe said

    I would think the numbers are just around 10% even though we have the advent of the internet, tech devices that can read the bible to you, etc. People have been lulled down from reading the scriptures… It’s old bible days any way right?

  19. Tom said

    I have read the Bible from cover to cover. It took about 9 months total. It is not quick but is not all that hard to get through…

    I think that if a person has not read the Bible cover to cover, then they don’t actually believe that it originated from God. A book written by God would be the most interesting and compelling document in existence. It would be impossible for a true Bible believer to not read it all.

    That many self identified Bible believers have not read the entire Bible is one of the reasons that I consider them to be liars.

    I am not Christian although I was raised as one.

  20. Foundit said

    Last year I became a Christian and thought it a ‘must’ to read the Bible. But it wasn’t easy and that sort of worried me. Until I discovered I could LISTEN to it, for example while having dinner. Soon I had gone through the whole Bible – even several times – and enjoyed it tremendously. I’ll give you the link: www. Biblegateway. com. On the left, click on Audio Bibles, then Choose a reader (my favorite is Charles Taylor, when he reads I don’t get bored or annoyed for one second). I liked that version so much I bought myself a GoBible with the exact same version for outdoors.

    Before I became a Christian I was for months on end plagued by serious insomnia. In my search on the internet for a solution I found Christ instead. Then, when I started listening to the Bible – while laying on my bed – I discovered I would soon fall asleep. During that time I must admit (without any feeling of guilt!) that I ‘used’ the Audio Bible as a sleeping aid. It worked each time!

    Later on, when the insomnia got better (thanks to God, I won’t go into details), I stopped Charles countless times to clear up things in the Bible I didn’t understand or disagreed with. I googled the word or verse or any question I had. I am immensely grateful for the Internet and Google and all the people who published their studies on the Bible which provided the (logical) answers and explanations to my problems.

    While searching for the correct answers I discovered as well loads of misunderstandings and deceptions concerning spiritual matters and Christianity, and also various serious Bible mistranslations. A collection of them can be found by for example googling trthndcptn.

    I can relate to the majority of people who have not read the (entire) BIble. Until recently I was one of them. Now I love that Book and, through it, got to know God’s character (God’s ‘name’ actually means God’s character), and His plan throughout the ages to save us from ‘the evil one’, and a lot more.

    No one ever told me how good this Book is, how vitally important it is for one’s spiritual future and survival. Now I would like to shout it from the rooftops!

  21. RICHARD ANDREWS said

    This is my experince on how long it takes to read The Bible.
    When I became a Christian at 33 I was so frustrated with my life & the world & so anxious to find what my new faith had to offer that I resolved to read all of it in one fell swoop.
    So, within a month of becoming a Christian, maybe even just a few days, I drove up to the top of the local mountain range (maybe a couple of hundred feet short of that because of landslide road blockage) and read The Bible from 9 am to 5 pm every day.
    I was not working at the time & I remember thinking “I am going to read The Bible as if it were my job”.
    Also, I read it out loud so that I would know from then on that I had heard every word of The Bible with my own ears. I did this because no matter how many sermons I had heard or verses referenced in public, movies, television, radio, etc. I knew that in an entire lifetime, even of a Christian in a Christian community & country I would hear only a very small portion of The Bible
    And the final time elapsed?
    7 days.
    I remember distinctly because it struck me that it was the same time that God took to bring creation into existence with day of rest.
    So, approximately, 56 hours but add a few more hours as I started before 9 am on some days if I arrived early & stayed after 5 pm a few of those days.
    There may have been an average of an additional 2 hours each day.
    I never arrived before dawn & never stayed after sundown as it would have been too dark to read.
    So, reading at a pace as though you were speaking to someone, I agree it takes about 70 hours to read The Word Of God.

  22. [...] it that you are deliberately engaging in false atheist propaganda? This wouldn't surprise really: Less than 10% of Professed Christians have read the entire Bible! Statistical research shows that less than 10% of professing Christians have ever read the [...]

  23. williamfriskey said

    I just finished reading The Bible cover to cover in 9 months. Pick up a devotional Bible with a reading plan. Mine would have gotten me through it in a year following the nightly reading assignments (which are VERY short and took about 15 minutes each), but once I built up steam, that wasn’t enough, so it didn’t take the full year. It’s not that bad, and interesting if you are supplementing with prayer and attending worship and talking to others well-versed in The Bible. In fact, my whole life was rough and my outlook on things got really bad during a period of a few weeks where I had stopped reading due to my schedule, and starting again really helped me focus on the gifts in my life, not the struggles. Just hearing what others in these stories from cover-to-cover did in the name of God and endured in His name really changes your outlook. Also, you will feel what these historic figures felt. Honestly, about half way through the Old Testament, I was just dying for a savior and craving Jesus’ life, just like they must have been desiring a Messiah. When you get to the New Testament, you’re so craving Jesus that all the Gospels make you feel so glorious as they must have been in the presence of our Lord. When Jesus dies, you feel that sinking feeling the Apostles must have felt seeing the thing they must trusted die, wondering why He did not perform a miracle to save himself, doubting if it all meant what they were told it meant. And then the glorious Resurrection, the Spirit-filled Pentacost, and the teachings of the early church ground you in the reality of God working in our own lives. It’s a journey I really recommend you take. I often add to my prayer now a thank you to God for his word. Like its final book–Revelation–The Bible starts off brutal and filled with disappointment at God’s people and ends with the glory of a New Covenant where we can all seek and share the love of God through our Lord Jesus. Amen for that.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 930 other followers

